Skip to content
FortnoxComparison · Zapier MCP

Nordsynk or Zapier MCP
for Fortnox?

Both connect Claude and ChatGPT to Fortnox. Zapier MCP builds on the actions in Zapier's Fortnox app, while Nordsynk is a Fortnox MCP server of its own. We compare what you can do, how changes are approved and what it costs.

Last checked: 12 October 2026

Nordsynk sells one of the options. The details about Zapier come from Zapier's own pages, and where they are silent we write Not stated.

Two routes to Fortnox

Zapier MCP

  1. 01AI clientClaude, ChatGPT, Cursor or another client
  2. 02Zapier MCPDiscovers and runs actions, 2 tasks per successful call
  3. 03Zapier's Fortnox appA fixed list of actions, plus API Request
  4. 04FortnoxYour company

Nordsynk

  1. 01AI clientClaude, ChatGPT, Copilot Studio, Cursor and more
  2. 02NordsynkThe whole Fortnox API and ready-made workflows
  3. 03ApprovalA preview in the browser before a change
  4. 04FortnoxYour company, your permissions
Both start in your AI client. The routes differ in what sits between the client and Fortnox.
01 — Comparison

Quick comparison

Eight rows showing where the services differ. The Zapier column reflects Zapier's own pages, dated 12 October 2026.

What it is

Zapier MCP

Zapier MCP lets an AI client run actions in apps connected in Zapier, Fortnox among them.

Nordsynk

A hosted MCP server for Fortnox from Nordbeam AB.

Fortnox actions

Zapier MCP

Eleven write actions and twelve searches or find-or-create actions, including Bookkeep Invoice, Create Invoice and API Request.

Nordsynk

The whole Fortnox API (377 operations) plus ready-made workflows for supplier invoices, OCR rows and SIE export, among others.

Approval and SIE export

Zapier MCP

Not listed as actions of their own. The API Request action makes a custom call to Fortnox.

Nordsynk

Ready-made workflows for approving supplier invoices and for SIE export.

AI clients

Zapier MCP

Clients that support Streamable HTTP, for example Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code.

Nordsynk

Claude, ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot Studio, Cursor and other AI assistants.

Approval before changes

Zapier MCP

The AI client asks you to approve the first run, and you can approve for the whole session. A preview of the Fortnox change itself is not described.

Nordsynk

A preview in the browser by default. An administrator can choose auto-approve per company, or read-only.

Price

Zapier MCP

Included in every Zapier plan. Each successful call uses 2 tasks, and failed calls cost nothing. The free plan has 100 tasks per month.

Nordsynk

199 SEK per Fortnox company and user per month through Fortnox. No per-call charge.

Multiple companies

Zapier MCP

Not stated.

Nordsynk

Activated per company. A user needs a seat in every company. Firms can use a separate agreement.

Governance and security

Zapier MCP

Zapier states SOC 2 Type II, workspace-level access controls, user permissions and history.

Nordsynk

Each user signs in to Nordsynk and picks a company. The assistant reaches only what the user has permission for in Fortnox and the Fortnox areas the company's access policy allows.

Sources, read 12 October 2026: Zapier's MCP page, Zapier documentation, Usage and tasks, Fortnox on Zapier MCP, Zapier pricing, Nordsynk's Fortnox listing.

02 — Fit

Which fits when?

When Zapier MCP fits better

You are already a Zapier customer and Fortnox is one of several systems in your flows. A Zap that creates a Fortnox customer when a deal closes, posts in Slack and logs the row in a spreadsheet can now be driven by an AI client through the same connections. Zapier states more than 9,000 apps, so a client can work across more systems than Fortnox. The actions come with the Zapier plan you already have, and for creating customers, invoices, orders and articles it may be the simplest route.

When Nordsynk fits better

Fortnox is the main job. Supplier invoices, OCR rows, approval and SIE export are ready-made workflows instead of steps you link together yourself. Changes appear as a preview that you approve before they are saved. A firm connects each client company separately but keeps the same AI assistant. Licensing is counted per Fortnox company and user: one user across ten client companies needs ten seats.

03 — Coverage

Action by action

Zapier's Fortnox app has a fixed list of actions. Nordsynk reaches the whole Fortnox API and adds ready-made workflows for what is not a single API call.

Coverage · Zapier's published action list, 12 October 2026

Area by area

CustomersZapier's Fortnox appCreate or update, findNordsynkThe whole API
ArticlesZapier's Fortnox appCreate or update, findNordsynkThe whole API
Customer invoicesZapier's Fortnox appCreate, bookkeep, create from order, rows, findNordsynkThe whole API
OrdersZapier's Fortnox appCreate or update, rows, findNordsynkThe whole API
Projects and cost centresZapier's Fortnox appCreate or updateNordsynkThe whole API
Supplier invoices and approvalZapier's Fortnox appNo action of its ownNordsynkInbox, OCR rows and approval as workflows
SIE exportZapier's Fortnox appNo action of its ownNordsynkReady-made workflow
Custom call to FortnoxZapier's Fortnox appAPI RequestNordsynkYes, against the whole Fortnox API
The Zapier column is the action names in Zapier's Fortnox app. The API Request action can make a custom call, so the list is a lower bound on what can be reached.
04 — Cost

What do the calls cost in Zapier?

Zapier counts in tasks, and an AI client's calls share the quota with your regular Zap runs. Nordsynk has no per-call charge, only the price per company and user.

Worked example · tasks in Zapier

Calls and tasks per month

AI-client calls only. Your Zap runs count on top of this.

10Tasks20EqualsA small part of the free plan
50Tasks100EqualsThe whole free plan
375Tasks750EqualsThe whole 750-task Professional tier
Tasks per successful call2
According to Zapier each successful call uses 2 tasks, failed calls cost nothing and test calls count. The quota is shared with your regular Zaps. The free plan has 100 tasks per month and Professional starts at 750, according to zapier.com/pricing.
05 — FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Zapier MCP and Fortnox

Can I use both Nordsynk and Zapier MCP?

Yes. They connect to Fortnox independently of each other. A firm can, for example, run Nordsynk for approval and SIE export while an existing Zap handles CRM sync against the same Fortnox company.

What does Zapier MCP for Fortnox cost?

Zapier MCP is not a separate purchase. According to Zapier it is included in every plan, and each successful call uses two tasks from the same quota as your Zap runs. The cost therefore follows how much Zapier you already use. Zapier states no separate price for Fortnox.

Does Zapier MCP work with Claude and ChatGPT?

Yes. Zapier writes that any client that supports Streamable HTTP works, and names Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code. For Claude and ChatGPT you sign in through the client, and Zapier creates the server during sign-in.

Can Zapier MCP approve supplier invoices or export SIE?

Approval and SIE export are not actions of their own in Zapier's Fortnox app, as we read it on 12 October 2026. The app does have an API Request action for a custom call to Fortnox. Nordsynk has ready-made workflows for both approval and SIE export.

Can an AI client change Fortnox through Zapier without approval?

Zapier writes that the AI client asks you to approve the first run, and that you can approve for the whole session so you are not asked for every action. Zapier does not describe a preview of the Fortnox change itself. Nordsynk shows every change as a preview that you approve in the browser.

Do I need a Zapier account for Nordsynk?

No. Nordsynk is activated in Fortnox, and each user connects their AI assistant and signs in to Nordsynk. No Zapier account is needed and you do not have to build any Zaps.

See how Nordsynk works

Nothing changes in Fortnox until you have approved it.